Breaking up with the bread aisle (it’s not me it’s you)

Published January 19, 2014 by Jennie

I will begin this post by saying I will never ever give up bread.  I just love it too much!  That being said, my goal today was to find a healthy bread option that is still sandwich worthy.  Usually, I buy Whitewheat Wonder Bread.  This is what it looks like.  whitewheat

Based on the package, it looks healthy (it even says healthy right on the label!).  On the side of the package, it says that it is a good source of whole grain and also tells me that it is nutritious (I guess to emphasize the fact that it is healthy).  Next, I looked at the list of ingredients.

unbleached enriched wheat flour [flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid], water, sugar, fiber (soy fiber and/or cottonseed fiber), wheat gluten, yeast, contains 2% or less of each of the following: calcium sulfate, calcium carbonate, vegetable oil (soybean oil or canola oil), salt, soy flour, dough conditioners (sodium stearoyl lactylate, calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate, monoglycerides, calcium iodate, ethoxylated mono and diglycerides, calcium peroxide, datem, azodicarbonamide), cultured wheat flour, guar gum, vinegar, ferrous sulfate, thiamin hydrochloride, monocalcium phosphate, yeast food (ammonium sulfate), soy lecithin.

Ok I have no idea what most of this stuff is (it could be all healthy for all I know).  The first ingredient is unbleached enriched wheat flour.  It looks like unbleached flour contains less chemicals so this is good.  I also thought that enriched sounded good but my research says it is not all it’s cracked up to be.  Apparently it just replaces some of the ingredients lost during processing (enriched vs. whole wheat bread).  I’m not happy to see sugar and soybean oil.  It also contains gluten but I have not yet begun to figure out that monster but for now it looks like I am going to need to find a replacement!

To eat healthy I plan on grocery shopping primarily at Harris Teeter and Trader Joe’s. Harris Teeter has a bakery and Trader Joe’s has one right next store.  I headed to the bakery next to Trader Joe’s.  The first thing I noticed about this place is that it smells AMAZING!  I am a little overwhelmed by number of different kinds of bread.  I sampled and analyzed the nutrition info for several of the breads.  The first one is the Dakota.  Here is a list of their ingredients.

Our Own Freshly Stone-Milled Whole Wheat Flour, Water, Inverted Cane Sugar, Sunflower Seeds, Pumpkin Seeds, Millet, Yeast, Salt

While I aimed to find wheat bread, I also liked Harvest White which contains Flour, Water, Honey, Yeast, and Salt (that’s it!).

I chose the Dakota bread.  To make this change permanent, it must fit into my daily life.  First, I looked at the prices.  White wheat bread at Harris Teeter is $2.35.  The breads at the bakery are both $5.15.  All these breads can be frozen so they will not go bad before we finish them.  My husband and I go through about 2 loafs a month.  While I do not want to have to go to 100 different places to grocery shop, this bakery is right next store to my grocery store.  The thing that won me over was the taste.  The bread from the bakery puts store packaged bread to shame.  I made sandwiches using bakery bread and they were delicious!  I think this is a change I am going to keep.

dakota white

Leave a Reply

