Water water everywhere and not a drop to drink

Published January 21, 2014 by Jennie

In this post I look at what is good for me to drink and what is good to avoid.  My RE suggested I stay away from caffeine and alcohol which is not news to me.  This part will be easy.  I have never drank coffee and have no plans to start.  I do like tea but I rarely drink it and there are non caffeinated options.  Avoiding alcohol is easy for me.  Like coffee, I have never had wine (minus a few sips when people force me to try some because they think there is no way someone can simply not like wine).  I also do not like beer.  In fact, I only tried it once back in 2003 and decided then that it was not for me.  I do drink liquor occasionally (maybe once or twice a month if I am out with friends).  I primarily stick to vodka and watered down mixed drinks that young kids with fake ids often order.  As a student, people often ask me how I live without coffee and alcohol.  Unfortunately, I have formed a very close relationship with Diet Coke.  I love it and could drink it all day.  Diet Coke is double bad because it has not only caffeine but also aspartame which I try to avoid.  In the past, I have made efforts to decrease my soda consumption and have gone long periods without it.  Now I am committed to giving it up completely.  Unfortunately, this does not leave me many beverage choices.  Even before this whole fertility thing, I have always drank water frequently but I think I need to increase the amount a little (I am sure not to go overboard).  It is difficult to figure out how much is enough but not too much.  I have a 24 oz water bottle that I will try to fill at least twice a day (not counting extra refills during workout sessions).  I felt very proud of myself for switching primarily to water but apparently for babymaking, this may not be enough.   Water bottles can contain BPA which some studies show can negatively impact fertility.  You know what else contains BPA?…EVERYTHING!  I am also supposed to stay away from tap water.  This is getting a little intense and I am only adopting changes I can live with.  If I am at the gym and need more water, I am going to fill up at the drinking fountain which may or may not be tap water.  I also fill up a lot at school.  For now, I am going to just continue using my regular water bottle and focus on finding a good amount to drink.  I may try to find a BPA bottle but I am really not sure if it is worth it (if anyone could shed light on this I would appreciate it).  Sometimes I feel like for every good thing I do, I learn about ten thing I am doing wrong.  Oh well, all I can do is try my best!

6 comments on “Water water everywhere and not a drop to drink

  • I hear you on the water intake stuff. I’m still drinking deer park water bottles as I can’t afford one of those water filter systems (plus I live in apartment not a house), plus I’m sure those filters don’t filter out everything that’s bad for you. Just try to avoid bottles that have been heated up by the sun as the BPA is being set free into the water by heat. I try to avoid tap water as much as possible, but I always have done that. You should definitely try to stay away from diet-coke just because of the aspartame. I still have my 1/2 to 1 cup of coffee per day which I don’t think will do any harm. I try to drink as much water as possible, but a recent study showed that even coffee doesn’t dehydrate you as previously thought and counts toward your fluid intake. Just have a look at your pee…if it’s a light color than you are hydrated enough 😉

    Like

    • I also heard that you should not leave bottles out in the heat (this can happen when you leave them in the car). I do not think there is anything wrong with a little coffee everyday. The only caffeine I drank came in soda form so that was all I had to manage. Even though I have always drank a lot of water, I did used to drink 1 to 2 diet cokes a day and I think I am having withdrawal. I have had an on and off again headache that started once I gave up soda 😦

      Like

  • There are a lot of BPA free water bottles out there and they aren’t too expensive. 🙂 Target or Walmart should have them. Also, I’ve often heard that you should drink half your body weight in ounces of water. I’m 146 so I should be drinking 73 oz. of water daily…I’m not so great at that.

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

