Confronting Old Demons

Published January 31, 2014 by Jennie

confront

This evening I was at my gym doing my thing when an old demon crept up.  I have always been into exercising  Even so, I have changed my motivation to work out.  In the past, I used to exercise because I was terrified of gaining weight.  I am not sure where it came from but I even remember as far back as when I was 11 and weighed 60 pounds and I wondered if that was too high.   I also remember the first time I weighted triple digits (I was 24) and I felt sick to my stomach.  In the past, working out used to mean running on the treadmill until I felt lightheaded and then running some more.  Today I saw a girl at the gym who could not have been above a size 2.  I want to make it clear that I do not judge her.  The is no one size fits all when it comes to body size.  I really hate it when people give others (especially women) a hard time for their body size because they think they are too small, big, etc.  When I saw this girl though, I had a temporary longing to go back to my old ways.  When I was smaller, I felt more in charge of my life.  I also liked the attention.  People used to frequently tell me how they wished they could be as small as me.

I know that being underweight makes it difficult to conceive.  Sometimes I get really frustrated though because I feel that I may never get so pregnant so I minus well go back to being the really skinny girl.  For a long time, it was my identity.  Fortunately, as time goes on, these thoughts occur less and less.  I know there is a possibility I may never have children.  Even so, I still should take care of myself.  There are more reasons to get healthy than just fertility.  This is all still a work in progress but I feel like I am going in the right direction.  Now I incorporate things into my workout (such as weight training) that I would never had considered in the past.  Tonight I danced my ass off in Zumba and for an hour, I forgot about this whole infertility thing.  I feel good.

10 comments on “Confronting Old Demons

  • I LOVE ZUMBA!!! I used to live in Gainesville FL and attended the best zumba class ever. Now I live in a town of 5000 people. I say the word Zumba and they look at me like I have three heads. Needless to say, I haven’t been to a class in three years. I miss it terribly! Dance for me next time!
    waitingforbabybird.com

    Like

      • for real?! I didn’t attend UF, my hubby did for engineering. I went to school by Saint Louis. It’s a long story but I lived in Chiefland, FL (do you know where that is located by gville) from 5 years old until 8th grade and then I moved to IL (that’s where my family lives and my parents were born and raised). My hubs was my 6th grade boyfriend. We re connected while I was in my last semester of college and he was going to UF. After I graduated, I moved to Gville and we got married. I worked as a school counselor in Wiliston (do you know where that is located?) It sure is a small world!! I loved Gainesville! If my family didn’t live so far away, we probably would have stayed.

        Like

  • In my book any exercise done no matter how or what is a good thing! I’m in one of my “no exercise” phases and I know I will pay for that later. So, good for you for doing your best to be healthy!

    Like

  • I’m glad you’re feeling better and Zumba is great! I’ve always been the “skinny” girl. I can’t gain weight. I try. I really do. My RE wants me to gain about 10-15lbs…but I can’t. I know most people would love to have my “problem”…but I’ve got a LOT of other infertility problems that NO ONE wants. I’m glad you are staying healthy and best wishes to you friend 🙂 xoxo

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

