The Rest of the World

Published February 5, 2014 by Jennie

infertilitty

So as we continue to deal with this whole infertility thing, I have realized something interesting.  The rest of the world goes on as if nothing unusual is happening (it’s crazy right!).  Some days I find it difficult to function in the ‘real world’.  Things that used to matter do not seem as important anymore.  It can also be difficult to shut off the constant stream of infertility thoughts and focus on other things.  I am very lucky to have a small group of wonderful friends who have gone out of there way to let me know that they are there for me.  None of them have dealt with infertility and I know some of our conversations make them uncomfortable.  They always compassionately listen to me drone on about this issue and have done everything they can to support me.  I wish I knew how I can show them how much it means to me.  I also wish I knew how to just let go of all of this (at least temporarily) and enjoy my time with them.  I know there are conditions and situations out there that are way worse than infertility.  Even so, it finds a way to dominate my life.  One of my goals is to redefine how I view myself.  I know I am more than just an infertile girl.  I just wish that I could feel that way.

14 comments on “The Rest of the World

  • It’s hard not to be consumed by infertility when you are in the middle of it. I think it’s like that with any condition that’s less than favorable. The only good thing is that you still have a bunch of friends that can pull you out of the infertility mess into the “other” reality once in a while and I’m sure they know how much you appreciate them. Sometimes actions speak more than words 🙂

    Like

  • You are more than just an infertile girl, but I get how you feel, took me 5 years of natural trying and then a year of ivf to conceive. Hard not to let it take over your whole world. I’m running a support group in Melbourne, not sure where you are located, but if not near maybe you’d like to host a meeting? It’s amazing being around others who know exactly how you feel. It’s on the http://www.meetup.com site if you are interested. x

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

