Snowmageddon!

Published February 13, 2014 by Jennie

Due to this crazy snowstorm, we have been cooped up in the house for several days and I am not sure when it is going to all be over. We live in the South were just a little bit of snow is enough to shut the city down and so far we have already gotten several inches and it continues to come down.
photo (9)

I am so glad I went grocery shopping a few days before the storm.  One strange thing about this area is people must get bread and milk before a snowstorm.  If they can not find any, they go nuts! I went to Great Harvest Bread Company and there were riots (ok well not really riots but people were freaking out that they were out of bread).  One of their employees told me they expected to have a few loafs done in a few hours so I came back then and actually got two!  Other customers were not as lucky and and I did get some death glares as I left.

Once I got back, I decided to stay put until this mess clears.  Classes have been cancelled and my husband’s office is closed.  Even so, he still has a ton of work to get done.  The poor guy has been slaving away in his office at home and does not even have time to enjoy this winter wonderland :(.  I am getting cabin fever but I am lucky enough to have an awesome neighbor that is also staying home and we have spent the last few days trying out new recipes.  We made granola bars which are healthier and cheaper than the ones we buy at the store, chocolate chip cookies (a hit with our husbands), and pizza with homemade dough.  We attempted to make homemade pumpkin pasta but I forgot to add the pumpkin (I can be absent minded at times).  We will have to try that one again.

My poor dogs have no idea what to do with all this snow (see my short clip).  

I have also been spending more time with my dogs since I am stuck in the house.  This has reminded me how lucky I am to have them.  Our oldest dog, Cali, is just wonderful.  We got her in 2006 a few months after my brother died.

IMG_1261

I am known as not being an emotional person but Cali always knows when I need some comfort.  Somehow she just senses it.  When I went through both my failed IUIs, she would not leave my side.  Also, while she has never harmed anyone, she is fiercely loyal and suspicious of new people.  Once she decides that someone is safe though, she is sweet as she can be.  I always say that if Cali likes you, you must be a good person.

We got Izzy in 2008.  She is so full of life.  For her, every day is filled with pure joy.  She is always ecstatic to see me whether its when I come home after being out of town a while or if I return from getting the mail.

IMG_1262

 

When I am feeling down, my dogs often remind me to focus on what is important.  It does not matter how big my house is, what kind of car I drive, what kind of clothes I wear, or how much money I make.  What really matters is spending time quality time with the ones I love.  I am so thankful to have my little snuggle bunnies.  

 

2 comments on “Snowmageddon!

  • I’m sorry to hear about your struggles with infertility. I can relate! Two people recently recommended acupuncture to me to help with fertility. One girl tried every other western treatment and was unsuccessful, but was finally able to get pregnant after acupuncture treatments. I asked my RE about acupuncture, and he actually recommends it (although he just claims “it relaxes you,” of course he’s not going to promote it over his treatment). Anyway, I’ve been going for several weeks bad plan to go throughout future treatment cycles. Apparently it works best 3-6 months before trying to conceive, so this may work with your May timeframe. Hope this helps!

    P.S. I’m in the south too, this was quite the snow storm!

    Like

  • Leave a Reply

