Hope

Published December 28, 2014 by Jennie

One year ago (almost to the day) I got a call that would change my life. At the time I was 30 and had been dealing with unexplained infertility for four years (it is still unexplained). My husband had recently started a job at a new firm. His job came with a pretty good basic insurance plan with no bi-weekly contributions. We planned on having him take that insurance. They had other plans but they required weekly-contributions. We also planned to have him be the only one on his firm’s insurance since I get free insurance through school (I am a doctoral student and it is part of my assistantship). Like every other insurance plan we had ever had, neither of these plans provided any type of infertility coverage.

The day I got the call, he was at work with not much to do. To pass time, he looked through the other plans offered that required weekly contributions. To his surprise, he found an affordable plan that actually offered infertility coverage. His period of open enrollment actually ended the next day so if he had not looked at it that day, we would have never known about it.

I got the call from him while on the way to the gym with a friend (I remember exactly where we were). I was shocked. I would later find out that this insurance not only has infertility coverage but that the coverage is amazingly good (my out of pocket for each retrieval surgery was $13).

I wanted to start right away. We ultimately decided not to do that. My husband is a tax consultant and is incredibly busy during tax season. This gave me time to learn everything I could about IVF and become as healthy as possible as preparation.

We planned to start in May but that did not happen. Due to my lifestyle changes, I felt much healthier than I ever had before and we decided to give an IUI another shot (we had done two before out of pocket that failed). This one failed as well.

Our next plan was to start in July. We were going to be out of town for part of the summer and I had to teach a class so scheduling in the summer would have been tough. In the end of July we started the process. Due to some setbacks (for example LabCorp lost my bloodwork and we had to redo it and re-wait for results) we completed IVF retrieval #1 in September.

Retrieval #1 went great. We decided to do another retrieval and PGS (at the beginning of this I decided I would do a max of 2 retrievals). That way would could pay one fee to have all our blastocysts tested. It took my body a bit of time to recover from retrieval #1 and retrieval #2 happened in early November.

PGS went great and gave us 7 little blastocysts to transfer. My RE closes for part of December so we did not do a transfer this month. We really want to do a transfer in January. I am going out of town for part of that month so it really depends on when AF comes. If it shows up in the next few days, we can complete the transfer before I go out of town. If not, we will wait to February (apparently the one time I want AF to show up it won’t).

So that is my year in review. I feel like 2014 was completely centered around IVF. While things are taking longer than I would have liked, I would not change anything we have done. I am also extremely thankful to have gotten this far in the IVF process. This year I got something back I lost a long time ago which is hope. I do not know if any of this will work, but our chance of success is a hell of a lot better than it was this time last year. I am nervous and excited to see what 2015 brings. I feel like we are on our way to something great!  Happy New Year to everyone! – XOXOXO Jennie

18 comments on “Hope

  • Leave a Reply

