Viability

Published April 21, 2016 by Jennie

Today I am 25 weeks. Last week we crossed the viability mark! I don’t want to speak for others, but I really think that reaching this point takes on special meaning for people who have dealt with infertility and or pregnancy loss. Of course I hope these babies keep cooking for a while. Even so, I feel so fortunate to have reached this point.

Today we had a fetal echo as well as a growth scan at MFM. Apparently our MFM does fetal echos for all IVF patients. I am curious to know if other people have had that for the same reason. Everything looked good. Baby A is 1 lb 8 oz and baby B is 1 lb 7 oz, which is right on track. Β I still do not feel much movement, which is strange but they were jumping all over the place during the ultrasound. Hopefully as things continue to progress I will feel more. Here are a few more updates on how things are going.

Symptoms

Thankfully, the round ligament pain has gone away for now. I know it may come back. Now I am dealing with carpel tunnel. It is much worse in my left hand (I am left handed). I have found that wearing a splint helps (especially at night).

About a month ago, I noticed I could not get my wedding ring off. Despite trying everything under the sun, it would not budge. This week I finally got it cut off. It was not hurting yet but I didn’t want to worry about getting really swollen one day and having it cut off circulation.

ring

We have been married for almost 9 years so it feels really strange to not have my ring 😦

Weight Gain

I am up 25 pounds and I am really happy about that! The goal was to gain 24 pounds by week 24 (I had a normal pre-pregnancy weight). Apparently that decreases the risk of preterm labor with twins. It has been difficult because I am not more hungry than I was before I was pregnant. I have been eating at least 100 grams of protein a day, which is hard! Anything for babies of course πŸ™‚

Names

People keep asking me what we are going to name the babies. I am actually letting my husband name them and tell me his final choice once they are here. I know that might sound crazy. Even so, hear me out!

  • If I do not like his choice(s), I will tell him and he can pick something else.
  • We have similar taste in names. We both like names that are easy to spell and pronounce (our babies will have enough trouble with our last name).
  • It was 100% my idea. When I suggested it, he got really excited.
  • I thought it would be a nice was for him to have some fun. People sometimes forget that this whole infertility/IVF/miscarriage/pregnancy journey is also hard on him.
  • Its a way for him to feel more involved and bond with the babies. He has been so supportive though all of this. Even with an insane work schedule, he has made every appointment. I could not do it without him!

 

I hope everyone else is well. Even at this point, everything still seems surreal to me. We have been on this journey forΒ 6 years and it is crazy to think that in the near future we may finally get to meet our babies! – Jennie

 

 

 

 

 

15 comments on “Viability

  • Yay! Another milestone reached! Congrats. I am not an IVF patient but I’m in an online support group for people pregnant after infertility and RPL. Several of the women who did have IVF are getting fetal echoes bc they are IVF patients. You’re not alone there! Hope things continue to go smoothly!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks. Its nice to know my MFM is not the only one that does that for IVF patients. Of course I never complain about getting extra scans or looks at the babies πŸ™‚ It’s nice to have them monitored so closely πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  • Yay for viability! Woooo! It is a reassuring milestone for sure. Glad to hear things are going well with the pregnancy. That is a really lovely thing you are doing for hubby with the names. You obviously trust his taste!

    Like

    • I do trust his taste. Some people think I am nuts for letting him do this but it is kind of fun. I look forward to seeing what he picks. It is also really sweet to see him take it so seriously. I know he will do a great job πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  • So glad the echo went well. Of course, you already know we had one too. Gives us mamas more appts to worry about, but it helped me have more peace after the appt passed and we got good results πŸ™‚ still praying for you every day!

    Like

    • I am the same way! I love having extra appointments but I get nervous every at every single one. It is so nice though to know that their little heart are healthy.

      Talk to you soon!

      Like

  • Congratulations on reaching the viability mark! Your story gives me hope, as we go into our first FET.

    Also, congrats on your successful defense! May I ask what you will be doing with your PhD? Will you stay in academia, or do you have another route planned? I was a first year PhD student last fall, but found that I needed time off while undergoing IVF with PGS for my translocation, as it was communicated to me that pursuing a family via IVF was not a good reason to reduce my conference travel, coursework load, or research responsibilities. Multiple people in the program advised me to put it off for a couple years (I’m 33 now). I’m struggling to decide whether to return to the program or to find a full-time job to help ease the financial burden on our family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! My PhD is in public policy and I originally planned to work for a think tank. I even got a job that would have been great but we ultimately decided I am going to stay at home with the babies. It was a hard choice to make. I do hope to work at some point. For now I plan to adjunct online.
      It is hard to go through IVF while also a PhD student. I found it easier to do so once I got through my coursework. Writing a dissertation is tough but time wise it is more flexible. I do not think I could have done the whole IVF thing as a first year taking classes. Conferences are tough too! I had to plan them around retrievals/transfers etc but somehow made it work. There were also a few conferences I just could not go to (part of the trade off I guess). I also have not been able to do as much research as I would have liked but have gotten to do some (yet another compromise).
      We were also told to put off everything babywise until I finished school. It is such a hard choice but I knew that the longer we waited, the harder it may be. I wish it was not that way. I am 33 now and did my retrievals when I was 31. A little more than half of my embryos were abnormal (of course everyone is different).
      Best of luck and if you ever need to chat feel free to email me at jwienke83 at gmail πŸ™‚ I don’t have all the answer but I am happy to share my experiences!

      Like

  • Yay! So glad to hear that you hit the 25-week mark! I think it’s a huge milestone for all pregnancies. I think it’s hard for daddies and daddies-to-be to feel involved and letting him pick the names is a great way to make him feel like he’s doing something. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Awww I am glad to hear you like my idea! I know he really wants to be involved and he has had a lot of fun picking up names. I get so much support through all of this and sometimes I think he feels a bit left out.
      Hope you are doing well πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  • Leave a Reply

