Our Infertility Game Plan!

Published March 19, 2014 by Jennie

1456085_10153852513465562_172427096_n

So for those of you not familiar with my blog, my husband I decided to look into IVF in December of last year.  He started a new job that has pretty incredible infertility coverage.  We figured since we have been trying and failing for four years with zero explanations, this may be something we want to do.  His job and my school schedule make it difficult to do anything until May so I decided back in December to do everything I can to improve my mental and physical well-being as a way to prepare for IVF.

Yesterday I got together with one of my friends I had not seen in several months.  He told me he could tell I am different now.  I look different, I act different, and I feel different.  I am not perfect (by far) but I never would have thought I could change so much in such a relatively short period of time.  While it has been hard at times, I can’t even begin to explain how glad I am that I have made these changes (if you are interested in learning more about what I have done you can refer to my prior post).

While I have been preparing for fertility treatments I have not been focused on trying to get pregnant which has been really great.  After four years, I needed a break.  I am not obsessing over all the normal TTC stuff which has helped focus on some other things I had been neglecting.  It is also nice to not fall apart and feel like a failure every month.  I am now able to remember that there are a few things I am good at.  I am a doctoral student and during the last few months, I have made some pretty good strides in my research.

This may sound strange but I am a little nervous about getting back into TTC mode in a few months.  For me, it means getting back to endless testing/poking/prodding which in the past has always led to disappointment.  Even so, I feel that I have done everything I can to prepare myself for this process.  I think if I tried IVF a year ago and it did not work, I would not have been able to handle it well.  I do not know how I would handle it now but I think I have reached a point where I would be okay (at least eventually).  For some reason, it is difficult to think about how I might react if it worked.  Even so, I know that is a possibility and I can allow myself to get a little excited thinking about it possibly working

The truth is that this whole process does scare me a little.  In the past, I do not think I could admit that to myself.  I am as ready as I will ever be.  My husband and I recently finalized our infertility game plan for May.  We are going to complete one more IUI first and then IVF for sure if it does not work.  We did two IUIs last year but did not have any infertility coverage and we did not include any monitoring.  I am going to give it my best shot.  If anyone has any suggestions to prepare for IUI or IVF, please do share.  Also, on a side note, one of my friends is having her bachelorette party at the beach in July.  If all of this does not work, I can at least tell myself I can have more fun at the party.  If not, I will have other great things to look forward  🙂 – Jennie

21 comments on “Our Infertility Game Plan!

  • I hear you on this. Our break has been an unexpected reprieve from the ttc day to day stresses. It’s given me the chance to regroup and face IVF with a calm approach. I think a good starting point will make all the difference! Good luck in your upcoming IUI!

    Like

    • It is very nice to know that I am the not the only one that needed a little break. Infertility can wear you out! I hope you are right and that having a good starting point can help all this crazy stuff work. Thanks 🙂

      Like

  • You should more related and happier which is huge. Accepting that all you can do is what you’re doing and enjoying the life you DO have is really important. Sounds like you’re getting there. Crossing my fingers for the next procedure.

    Like

  • I love your positivity! I’m so glad you’re “better”, it makes all the difference in the world. Something I would try, if I were you, going into IUI#3 is to keep busy, and DON’T TEST EARLY!! Easier said than done, since I myself haven’t been able to successfully do so yet, but I highly recommend it. We’ll be starting IUI #4 cycle in a few weeks and I’ve decided I will NOT be testing early this time. I hope May is it for you guys!

    Like

  • Hi – I just started following your blog (thanks for checking mine out!) and I love this post. First of all your picture at the top cracked me up! Isn’t that the truth!! And I absolutely know what you mean about it feeling so nice NOT to be trying. When we learned that my husband wouldn’t be able to get me pregnant it was such a relief to not wonder each month if I might be pregnant! Away went all of the books, all of the ovulation tests, all of the bbt thermometers, etc. I felt so free. And then when it was time to get moving with my IUI I felt much more mentally prepared. This might sound unusual, and I’m sure there are other forums you could go to, but if you go to Fairfaxcryobank.com, go to “Donor Sperm” then “Family Forums” then to “Fertility Treatments” – the women on the site all go through IUI or IVF and you could learn a lot. I’m also willing to answer questions, but my process was a natural cycle, not medicated, so if you’re getting the hormone injections, ultrasounds, trigger shots, etc, I don’t really know about any of that. All I can tell you about my IUI is that I had two IUIs, one on the day of my positive ovulation test and one the day after and I had a massage after the first one. I would highly recommend the massage, it’s a great way to relax afterword.

    Its so natural to be scared. I am crossing my fingers for you and your husband. I look forward to reading your previous and future posts 🙂

    Like

  • Enjoyed reading your blog (thanks for checking out mine!) and am wishing you the best of luck with IVF. Given all the steps you’ve taken to get yourself in good shape nutritionally, I bet IVF will seem like a walk in the park! Honestly though, it can be hard but also exciting. My biggest piece of advice to you would be to not make any significant plans during the stimulation/retrieval/transfer phase as it gets busy and doesn’t always go as planned. It’s much easier to deal with that if you’re not worried about missing an important work/family event. Also, it truly is a marathon, not a sprint! Take good care of yourself and build in plenty of “me/us” time!

    Like

  • Hi Jennie. I just found your blog. Good luck on your next IUI…hopefully you won’t need IVF. As someone who did everything I could to get my body in the best place possible for IVF, I say just relax. At this point, nothing I’ve done mattered one way or another…I believe it is either going to work…or not regardless of what you do. Looking forward to following your journey!

    Like

  • What a great post! It is so true that when you are ttc, although you should be focused on being a better you, there’s so many other things to think and worry about. If you have any questions about IUI, I’d be happy to try and answer them. This is my 3rd one and all have medicated and monitored. If this one doesn’t work, I’m looking forward to the break. I’ve been working on getting the chemical toxins out of our house this 3rd time. I’ve gotten rid of the chemical cleaners and make my own with Young Living essential oils and am working on switching out all my personal care products too. Now I need to work on eating cleaner but that is by far the most difficult thing for me. I pray that you get your BFP on your next IUI! And congrats on the infertility coverage….that is Awesome!!!!

    Like

    • Thanks so much. I am about to start my 3rd IUI but it will be my first one with monitoring. It is difficult to get toxins out of your house. I have primarily focused on food and have starting making my own cleaners using stuff like vinegar, baking soda, and lemons. I will have to look into essential oils. I really hope yours works out and I will be sure to ask if I have any questions about the monitoring. Thanks again 🙂

      Like

  • Leave a comment