You Miss 100% of the Shots You Don’t Take

Published June 3, 2014 by Jennie

failure-cartoon1-300x217

 

Last Friday, I had a rare date night with my husband.  He has been really busy at work and I have been really busy with school so it can be difficult to find time to spend together.  During our date, I began to share some of my fears of our outcome for IUI #3.  I have done close to EVERYTHING I could possibly to do give us the best chance of having it it work.  I have made what it seams like endless health and wellness changes.  I asked him what would happen if I did all this and I still failed.  His answer was simple.  He said that we will never know for sure what will happen if we try but we can be certain we will fail if we don’t.

That put things in perspective for me.  It made me think of a poster I used to have up in my classroom when I was a teacher.  I think it was put up by a teacher who had my room before me and looked something like this:

you-miss-100-percent-of-the-shots-you-dont-take

 

I really never gave this quote much thought before.  I have never been a fan of motivational quotes.  I usually find them cheesy and unrealistic (I also do not really care for hockey!).  Even so, as I think about it, this quote (and my husband are right).  When you try, there is no guarantee of success but everyone who succeeds did so by trying.

I tried to make this shot work (anyone and everyone knows I did everything I possibly could).  I am still glad we tried.  We could never get to the next step if we did not go through this one.  Today I will allow myself to cry and grieve but tomorrow I am going to move on with my life.  Wednesday is a big day for me.  Seven years ago tomorrow while in front of 11 family members and wearing a $100 dress, I said I do to the love of my life.  That was a shot definitely worth taking and I would not trade it for anything in the world.  – Jennie

16345_100553486638010_6451929_n

23 comments on “You Miss 100% of the Shots You Don’t Take

  • Have you looked into NaProTechnology? It’s what I’ve been using to figure out our infertility. They try to find the underlying cause of infertility so that they can correct it. I use it because I have issues with the morality of IVF. Regardless, the pregnancy rates are much higher IUI/IVF. I think their site is http://www.fertilitycare.org. I’m not sure where you’re located, but there’s medical consultants all over the place.

    Like

  • Every month is a little harder than the last, but is the time when it’s the most important to remember that (now infamous!) quote. At the end of the day, I think it’s the emotional toll – more than the physical one – that makes infertility so hard. And I think that’s something a lot of people don’t always realize. But it sounds like you’ve got a great coach/cheerleader on your side who gives great locker room talks helping you to remember and focus on the things in your control.

    Grats on 11 years together! 🙂

    Like

    • You are so right. I can handle the physical part. I have had so many tests/procedures/lab work that it has become second nature to me. It is the emotional part that is so draining. Thanks so much for the encouragement.

      Like

  • Leave a Reply

